I’m not Guilty

There is always a lot of talk in the media about work, motherhood and guilt. While I have struggled with being a good parent, I haven’t struggled with guilt over working outside of the home. Don’t get me wrong, I am not criticizing anyone who may feel guilty. I feel guilty about many aspects of my parenting. Working outside of the home just isn’t one of them.

When I originally wrote this post I listed all of the reasons that I don’t feel guilty about working. However, in the end my reasons aren’t important to anyone but me. Everyone should make a decision based on their own circumstances.

What is relevant is that I made a choice with confidence in my decision. I enlisted the help of my husband and family to help me. I weighed the reasons why I was going to work outside the home and the reasons were important to me.

It doesn’t matter which choice you make. It matters that you are doing the best you can with the information you have at that time. And remember, no matter your choice you can always make a different decision if circumstances change or if it’s just not working for you.

Leave a Reply

