Sometimes You Gotta Be Sneaky

My oldest son is very thin. This isn’t a bad thing. My husband and I were both really thin growing up. So there isn’t a worry about his weight itself. But I do worry about his nutritional intake. Left up to him he would subsist on Chick-fil-a sandwiches (which are delicious). So, over the last few months I have been attempting to inject more nutrition into his diet. Here is my approach.

Approach 1 – Keep more stuff in the freezer for him to eat instead of running to the fast food joint

I made burritos with his favorite fillings. I wrapped each one individually and placed in the freezer. Now all he has to do is just heat it up in the microwave. This way I know he has eaten something that is lower in sodium than the burritos you buy in the grocery store. Next time I make them I will post details on how I did it.

I made individual sloppy joe pies. I have a post on Pinterest with all the details. You can find it here:

The key is all homemade ingredients and trying to inject vegetables. I try to sneak in puréed spinach whenever possible. Using fresh ingredients also helps keep him away from processed foods and higher sodium foods.

Approach 2 – Smoothies

I am trying to get up in time to make a smoothie for the boy in the morning that he can drink on his drive to school. Right now he seems to like one with frozen bananas, frozen strawberries and orange juice. This morning I tried a monster green smoothie and modified it by adding some strawberries and a little agave syrup. He drank it but prefers the one above. Maybe I will sneak in a little spinach in the regular one. Here is the link to the monster green smoothie:

http://iowagirleats.com/2012/01/04/my-top-secret-diet-weapon/

Approach 3 – Healthy Snacks

This past couple of weekends I have made Banana Nut Bread. I try to up the nutrition by using wheat flour. I slice the loaf up and wrap individual slices. This way he can grab a slice and head off to school. Here is the recipe I use:

http://www.food.com/recipe/starbucks-banana-walnut-bread-384181

This morning I made chocolate covered banana slices. I plan on keeping these in the freezer so either of the boys can grab as a snack.

20130316-100838.jpg

Overall I think I am making progress. I am nowhere near where I would like to be but I keep trying. My youngest has even worse eating habits and is picky. We do make dinner at home most every night and keep trying to get him to eat new things.

Wish me luck and let me know what you do to try and inject more nutrition into your lives.

Leave a Reply

