Cooking with LuLu – Roasted Tomato Salad

I am really fortunate to have a husband that does most of the cooking. He handles a majority of the nightly dinner cooking for which I am really grateful. My cooking is mostly limited to Sundays, baking and entertaining. We recently celebrated my oldest son’s birthday by inviting over close friends and family. I made homemade pizzas and something new I created, Roasted Cherry Tomato Salad. It was really delicious if I do say so myself. Here is the recipe I created…

Ingredients:
2 pints cherry tomatoes
12 ounces small mozzarella balls, cut into quarters
3 1/2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon fresh ground pepper
2 tablespoons fresh chopped basil
1 tablespoon fresh chopped Italian leaf parsley
1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes (1/2 teaspoon if you like it spicy)
1/4 teaspoon dried oregano

20130429-201133.jpg

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Wash the tomatoes and place onto a large cookie sheet. Pour 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil over the tomatoes. Sprinkle with the salt and pepper. Roll the tomatoes around on the sheet to coat them evenly with the olive oil, salt and pepper.

20130429-201244.jpg

Roast for 20 minutes. Remove from the oven and drain off any liquid. Place back in the oven for another 10 to 15 minutes. The tomatoes should be nicely roasted with most of the liquid gone. Let them cool to room temperature.

After the tomatoes have cooled place in a serving bowl. Add the basil, parsley, red pepper, oregano and 11/2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil. Mix well combining all ingredients. You can serve immediately or place in the refrigerator until ready to serve.

20130429-201753.jpg

It didn’t look as pretty as I hoped. Next time I will try placing on a platter with some fresh basil and parsley leaves on the platter.

I hope you enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

